Photobucket
current
archives
profile
about me
cast
links
austinliz
mymichele
email
myspace
fanfic
notes

Nothing in common.

November 13, 2008

Hai guise. Just a reminder, if you're on LJ, so am I. I update there sometimes daily. I haven't give up on D-Land, I've been at this fucking place since 2001, how can I give it up now?

CSI did not really hold my attention this evening. I got excited about Lauren Tom 'cause she played Julie on Friends, but that's about it. Next week is the return of the miniature killer, and I'm way excited for that. Natalie is hardcore, y'all.

Anyway, here's something from today, and then other stuff...

First things first: Found out yesterday that there were official, as in GN'R posted about it themselves on their official myspace, listening parties for Chinese Democracy. And for some reason, there's one in Dallas! It's on Monday, and there's no way I'm missing that. It's at a bar and I'm not really a bar person, but seriously. You get a free t-shirt (if you pre-order the album) and I really have no other choice but to go.

Now here's where I ponder life. That's fun, right?

I'm sure this is something people learn very early in their life, as did I. But I've started reflecting on it recently, and I wish to share. And if I know you IRL, don't be offended. Just don't. Even if your name is Brandy and you don't like GN'R. (Give them a chance!)

A few weeks ago, BFF co-worker and I were in her car and the Filter song "Hey Man, Nice Shot" came on the radio and I was like, oooh, I love that song. And she was all, "I have never heard this song before." And I was all, "WHUT." That song reminds me of working at a movie theater with my ex-boyfriend when I was 17, having the biggest crush in the world on him and having to watch him with some other chick with a fat ass make out all the time. And the fact she's never heard it kind of blew my mind.

And I thought to myself, you know, I'm always surprised and a little let down when someone doesn't like or know the same thing I do. Or when someone hasn't had the same experiences than me, or when someone is completely different from me. Like, BFF co-worker is very neat and tidy and hardcore about a lot of things and can run a mile in 10 minutes and even though we're both struggling with our weight, she's lost a good amount of it and mostly because she doesn't eat like a goddamn pig like I do. She doesn't like the same music I do, has barely seen any of my favorite movies, doesn't share a lot of the same experiences growing up (her parents actually liked each other and their family actually participated in activities together!), and in some ways is pretty much the exact opposite of me in many respects. But we still get along and have a lot of fun together and talk shit about people and it doesn't matter that she loves everything about baseball and I know nothing, and don't care, about baseball, and that I love and obsess over my doggies but she can hardly even stand being around one.

Four of us at work yesterday, all women, all between 26-33, tried to figure out which movies we've ALL seen and ALL liked. Between the four of us, we must have talked about 30 or 40 movies, and the only three that we all agreed on was Stand By Me, Titantic, and Mean Girls. BFF co-worker has never seen the Shawshank Redemption! How is that possible? And another co-worker hasn't seen Clueless. Clueless! Such a vital movie to my existence! It's almost as if I get offended if people don't even know something that's played an important part in my life. It's weird, I know.

So with my already bad habit of comparing my accomplishments to other people of my age and often finding that I still have a ways to go compared to many people, I find myself wondering if I'm truly that different from everyone else, or is everyone that different from everyone else? Or are we all the same, and our differences are just a way to make ourselves stand out from otherwise everyone else in the world? I admit that I may have been holding on to my GN'R love, at some points in the past 16 years, because it made me different. But it would also be nice to know even one person (IRL, not just internet friends) that loves GN'R as much as I do. It would be nice to have a friend whose parents are divorced, who struggles with their weight, who has weird relationship issues, who isn't the tidiest of people, who writes fanfic and enjoys reading and talking about it, who enjoys watching wrestling from time to time, who talks to their mom on the phone at least twice a day...etc. I don't know a lot of people who have many similar interests to me and sometimes it would just be nice if someone did.

Does that make sense to anyone? Or are you all like, "Duh, people are different. Go away." I do know that. And I know if everyone were the same it'd get boring, blah blah blah. But sometimes I really do feel like an outsider because most of the people I know don't like the same things. Welcome to the internet though, right? I guess that's one reason why it's so popular. But I think it's interesting, the differences between people. Or maybe I've had too many carbs today and my brain died. Either one.

*****

And because I haven't done it for a while...

1
"My mom got married when she was 20, had my brother at 27 and me at 33. So I feel like I have maybe 5 good years left before things start to shut down for business."

2
"I still, after 12 years, want Angela Chase's hair in My So Called Life. It's so pretty and fluffy and stuff."

3
"Um, did I just tell Church Boy's girlfriend that I was in love with her boyfriend? Yes. Yes I did."

4
"My mom makes me be subtle about things when I really don't want to be, but I'm starting to realize and recognize the fact that being subtle and not confronting everyone about my feelings is really the way the world works. It goes against my nature totally and completely."

5
"The doctor also said that the more activity I do, the less time it'll be numb. But what does he think I should do right now? Do jumping jacks? Go out in public with my Elvis lip? I don't think so. I think it's time to take a nap."

6
"*shakes head* I mean.. it's like he was talking to one of his aquaintances when he was talking to me. It sucked, frankly. I'm not sure what to do about this, exactly. I feel like I have to do something, but really, what is left to do? We can't "get back together".. it would be pointless, I'm leaving soon. So what am I waiting for? Good god almighty!"

7
"I feel so helpless against everything, like things are happening and the world is moving and people are doing things without me, and for some reason I can't get it together. I didn't used to feel like this. It's not fun."

That was fun, right?

previous // next // random
0 comments
diaryland