Photobucket
current
archives
profile
about me
cast
links
austinliz
mymichele
email
myspace
fanfic
notes

2006 - a year in review!

December 15, 2006

Hi. I did this last year and the year before, so yeah, here it is.

1.What did you do in 2006 that you'd never done before?
I maintained a relationship with someone other than Matt for the entire year! Well, tomorrow will be a year. I personally think that is impressive.

I also managed to hold a job for a year straight. I've actually never managed to do that before.

So, basically this year was about maintaining things and not really improving things. But I'm sure we'll get to that.

2. Did you keep your new years' resolutions and will you make more for next year?
I didn't really have resolutions this year, but it's safe to say that I planned to lose weight. Instead, I gained it, almost 20 pounds, in fact.

But I was thinking about it today, and I realized that I seem to have a pattern. In even years, I gain weight. In odd years, I lose it. It's been happening for a while now. So this next year will be a losing weight year. Hopefully it'll be enough weight to make a difference. That would be happy.

3. Did anyone close to you give birth?
My cousin's baby mama had her little boy, Dylan. We're not exactly close, but the baby is a cutie.

4. Did anyone close to you die?
My grandmother. I wrote my Nano story because of a promise I made to her. My mom read just a little of it last night and she ended up, like...sobbing. I'm glad it had such an impact but I don't wanna make my mommy cry!

5. What countries did you visit? The only significant trip I took was the Utah/Vegas road trip in the summer.

6. What would you like to have in 2007 that you lacked in 2006?
Better confidence and self control. - That's been my answer for the past 2 years and it holds true. I have pretty much zero self esteem and, as you would expect, zero self control. Freebirds and Taco Cabana should not have power over me. I am not pizza's bitch. It's true. I just have to believe it's true.

7. What date from 2006 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?
I wouldn't say any one day sticks in my mind. It wasn't a bad year, just nothing really happened that sticks out in my mind.

8. What was your biggest achievement of the year?
Well, I was really happy to finish Nano 2 hours before the deadline. I am proud to have maintained my relationship. I am probably most proud of having maintained my job, and being depended on and relied on and knowing that I am a valuable member of the company.

Also, I had a whole lot of sex this year. Like, a lot. And it was good.

9. What was your biggest failure?
I'd have to say missing out on the promotion I missed out on because of my procrastination. I had no idea it would be biting m in the ass for so very long.

I did talk to my boss about it yesterday and I asked if they posted the position when I was on Christmas vacation, what could I do to be considered for it. He said they'd wait to post it until after I got back. I think that's pretty impressive, actually. Yay me.

I also failed miserably with my weight. I'm at the highest weight I've been in 4 years, ever since I graduated 4 years ago. Last year I was doing so well and I just really fucked it all up this year. I am not proud of that at all.

10. Did you suffer illness or injury?
I think I was really sick only once or twice this year. Injury...something broke in Josh's room and somehow a piece of glass ended up in his bed. I scraped my knee on it and it looks like there's gonna be a nasty scar for a while. It could have been worse, obviously.

11. What was the best thing you bought?
I like my pretty, pretty TV that I bought. I also enjoy my new apartment, which I did sort of buy. My laptop is way awesome. I bought way too much this year, honestly.

12. Whose behaviour merited celebration?
My mom. She held it together when the shit hit the fan.

13. Whose behaviour made you appalled and depressed?
My own, mostly. There were a few times (okay, a lot of times) that Josh made me want to tear my hair out, but that's what happens when you decide to have a passionate relationship.

14. Where did most of your money go?
Freebirds, for one. A lot of it went into bills, and a lot more went into the procurement of more stuff. I like stuff. - Last year's answer, and I do have to say that it is pretty much this year's, as well.

15. What did you get really, really, really excited about?
Getting better at my job, having a lot of sex, um, yeah.

16. What song will always remind you of 2006?
"Hate Me" by Blue October, "Rollin'" by Chamillionaire, "Unfaithful" by Rhianna.

17. Compared to this time last year, are you:

i. happier or sadder? it's relative. I have what I wanted more than anything last year, which is a stable relationship, but I still have so much to accomplish and that hurts my brain. I'll say...the same.
ii. thinner or fatter? Oh, I'm a fattie.
iii. richer or poorer? Richer. I made A LOT of money this year. It's all gone, none in savings or anything, but I made it.

18. What do you wish you'd done more of?
Exercised self control. - Same as last year.

19. What do you wish you'd done less of? Um, eat? Also, I could have done without the constant fighting. I do think I initiated my fair share of it.

20. How will you be spending Christmas?
In Utah with my mommy and stepdad and brother.

21. Did you fall in love?
I did. Lovey dovey doo.

23. How many one-night stands?
None, thank you!

24. What was your favourite TV program?
Oh, man, what wasn't? Northern Exposure, Ghost Hunters, House, Scrubs...it was a big TV year.

25. Do you hate anyone now that you didn't hate this time last year?
Nope, still hate all the same people.

26. What was the best book you read?
Baby Proof by Emily Giffin.

27. What was your greatest musical discovery?
I wasn't big into music this year, really, honestly. Still love me the GN'R, though!

28. What did you want and get?
Lots and lots of sex. Money. Burritos. Doggy love. A new TV.

29. What did you want and not get?
A FUCKING BOYFRIEND! - That was my answer the last two years. Funny, huh? I have one of those now! But again, I'll have to say self control. Self confidence, self esteem, all those good self-words. Also, a promotion.

30. What was your favourite film of this year?
Really liked the Departed, Stranger than Fiction, la la la. Oh, I just saw The Holiday and it was gooood. It made me cry about 8 times. I love Kate Winslet! Go see it now.

31. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?
I had On the Border with Josh and watched Ghost Hunters and that weekend my mom made me creamed chicken.

32. What one thing would have made your year immeasurably satisfying?
These questions are starting to get a little repetitive. To switch it up a little, I'll say...getting a spot on a WNBA team would have been immeasurably satisfying.

33. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2006?
Uh, I didn't have one.

34. What kept you sane?
My mom. And Josh, although he also made me insane. Same thing.

35. Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most?
Hugh Laurie? Zach Braff!

36. What political issue stirred you the most? Nothing. Heh.

37. Who did you miss?
Near the beginning of the year, I did sort of "miss" Matt. But once I sent that email and his girlfriend answered, I got over that rather quickly. I kinda miss my grandmother...I mean, it was her time to go, but I hadn't prepared myself for it.

Here's part of my answer from last year that amuses me and I will now share: There was even a time in July when I was missing Josh because I had a couple of dreams about him. That was weird, because before that, I still had such angst for him. The fact that I have very warm feelings for him at this moment is completely weird and I'm still trying to deal with the whole thing.

38. Who was the best new person you met?
I really didn't meet new people. That's bad, right?

39. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2006:
If you want to make a relationship work, you just need to shut the fuck up sometimes.

40. Quote a song lyric that sums up your year.
I am totally blanking. How completely unoriginal of me.

This took way too long to fill out.

previous // next // random
2 comments
diaryland