Photobucket
current
archives
profile
about me
cast
links
austinliz
mymichele
email
myspace
fanfic
notes

working, plus American Idol!

February 08, 2005

Oh man, the hot guy from New Orleans got kicked off American Idol in the first round! There is just no justice. But wow! That Rashida chick is awesome.

Anyway.

I always knew the day would come when I finally got to wake up, get in the car and drive to a new job. I knew the day would come where I found this job on my own, where they finally believed in me enough to hire me, where they were happy that I accepted the job. I just had no idea when that day would be, and I didn't know how it would happen.

Well, that day was finally today. In October, I interviewed for this job like I've never interviewed before. I wanted it more than anything, and I almost felt like I wanted it too much. I didn't get the job at that time, but I have it now, for some reason.

And hey! It's a pretty groovy job. I never woke up one day and said to myself, "Hey! I want to do closed captioning! Wouldn't that be fun?!" But I mean, it's good times, dude. Sure, the people I work with are all like, 100 years old. Apparently the "single" people work the swing shift. And sure, we only get 30 minutes for lunch. And, sure.. the start time of 7 AM boggles my mind. I'm going to have set my alarm today for the insane time of 5:50 AM! I haven't seen that time like.. ever.

But I get to use my editing skills and my attention to detail and I get to watch TV all day and it's gonna be good times. It looks a little complicated, but hey, a challenge! I haven't had one of those in a long time. It's something new. I am determined, and I am going to conquer this shiznit. They haven't ever seen the likes of me! Or something.

Today was a little boring because they didn't really know what to do with me, other than have me fill out a million forms and read the style guide and crap. Tomorrow is the start of training. I am looking forward to it.

This entry would be a lot more interesting if I wasn't so captivated by American Idol. They sent the chick who sold her wedding rings home! I mean.. that's just not right.

Anyway.. it's a relief to FINALLY be in a job where I can benefit the company, where I am actually going to be useful and helpful and good at what I do, where I'm finally using my education and experience and skills.

I've had a lot of jobs in the past 2 years since graduation:
- Jason's Deli
- a secretary at a construction site. Worst.job.ever.
- customer service at GM
- Freebirds! Woo, burritos!
- a secretary for my dad. FOR A YEAR!

It's a little weird cuz I worked for my dad for almost a whole year. February to February! Good times.

In other news, I bought a pair of Seven jeans at Lane Bryant. Those fuckers were $90, but damn! I don't think I've ever had a pair of jeans that fit so well. I am in love.

I dorked myself out and bought the first season of Murphy Brown tonight. It's good stuff! I also bought Use Your Illusion II, because I haven't bought enough Guns N Roses albums in my lifetime. Tomorrow I'm bringing my GN'R mug to work! Yay.

Also, I hate boys. I said I wasn't going to say anything else about a certain boy and I'm just not going to, but let's just all know that I'm still disgruntled and most of all, disappointed. I'm not calling this certain boy because obviously there's a reason why he hasn't called in a week, and I'm starting to think that I'm better off not knowing that reason.

That is all. Sorry about the crap.. American Idol has taken me over tonight.

previous // next // random
0 comments
diaryland