Photobucket
current
archives
profile
about me
cast
links
austinliz
mymichele
email
myspace
fanfic
notes

More Match Games than you can shake a stick at.

June 10, 2005

My lack of recent updates have to do with having absolutely nothing to talk about but work. Work, work, work.

Now that I'm out of my training period and fully free to do overtime, I've been taking advantage of that beyotch. I did 3 hours yesterday, 4 today, and I'm even going in tomorrow to do 6 more hours. Yes, *gasp* I'm working on a Saturday! Willingly, even!

All the OT I'm doing this week is in preparation for my trip to Vegas in July. I think it's going to get me about $200 extra, and that, my friend, is a lot of $5 Blackjack. That excites me in the pants a little, I must admit.

Also, I've been thinking about it, and there's really no reason why I shouldn't be doing overtime at this point in my lifetime. I have no obligations - no doggies, no boyfriend, no kids, no roommates, my mom is out of town, and, really? Let's just all admit that I really have no life anyway. So why don't I capitalize on that? It's not like what I'm doing is hard work, really. I have to sit around all day and watch funny 70's game shows and type everything they say. The most difficult part of my job is trying to figure out what the hell Richard Dawson is always mumbling about.

Speaking of Richard Dawson, I seem to be developing quite an attachment to him. I don't know if it's love or hate, either. He's in both the M@tch Game and F@mily Feud, so we can't really avoid him, even if we tried.

I mean, all of us who do these game shows.. you guys who be so friggin bored if you ever listened to our conversations. We discuss the HI-LARIOUS questions we get on the M@tch G@me (I had one yesterday that began as "The Fried Chicken Chef said the the psychiatrist...) and how Richard started losing all kinds of interest in the M@tch G@me circa the summer of '77 once F@mily Feud started gaining popularity. I mean, fascinating stuff, people! Oh, and we all seem to agree that we love Brett Somers and Charles Nelson Reilly, but our hate for Joyce Bulifant and Edie McClurg knows no bounds.

Maybe someday we'll do more than game shows and Step By Step, but probably not.

After getting off work at 7:30 tonight (keep in mind, I get to work at 7 in the morning), I went grocery shopping and kinda felt all adult and grown-upish. I am, after all, a working woman who looks okay in capri pants and shops for her own groceries on a Friday night.

But then I got to thinking about how I have no life and how I really need me some boy loving around here soon. I keep saying I'm going to do the internet dating thing soon, but I have lots of excuses right now. It costs too much, I haven't done as well as I'd like on my diet, blah blah blah.

It's probably good that I'm single right now, anyway. I can really take advantage of that and make as much money as possible. So, I guess you could say that right now my number 1 priority is work. Which is always a good thing, but what about that novel thing? And what about that whole working out thing I haven't done in 2 weeks? Well, you gotta do what you gotta do.

Although I am still steadily losing weight. I'm back on Meridia and the appetite isn't quite what it used to be. So that's good.

In other news, my writing class was pretty cool on Wednesday. I contributed to the discussion the story we read, "Black Elvis," and it was good stuff. I also fell in love with the new boy in the class because:
a. He's a massage therapist
b. He has an earring!
c. He writes poetry!

I like him. There's still 2 more months of the class, so we'll see what happens there.

Today I made an ass out of myself in a very road-ragey way. There was this dude stopped at a red light, but we were in the right lane and I wanted him to just turn so I could get on the damn tollway! But he wouldn't turn! So I honked at him and said very foul things in general. Then I looked up and noticed the "No Right Turn on Red" sign. And then I felt stupid.

The normally wonderful TwOP has broken my heart by putting CSI in "permanant hiatus." No more wonderful Billy Petersen forums, no more Six Degrees of CSI, no more 35 page threads on the season finale. That makes me sad in a very dorky kind of way.

I really, really like the Foo Fighters new song. Really, a lot. I seem to identify with it. Please see below for lyrics.

In a similar vein, I don't think about this much, and when I do, it's with a very big feeling of detachment/apathy. But Matt? He hasn't tried to contact me in any kind of way since he went to Mexico, which was pretty much 2 months ago. That really kind of boggles my mind. But not really.

I will shut up now.

*weird symbol things are being done to protect the innocent.

*****

a year ago...
"There is a woman who works out at my gym who has the largest breasts I've ever seen in this world."

2 years...
"I know I need to get over this, and I think I will. I think thinking about it so much will help me get used to it, eventually accept it, and then somehow get over it. At least that's my excuse and I'm sticking to it."

3 years...
"Yes, indeed, I have BB, and he has been my excuse for so long. "I can't do anything on Friday cuz I'll be at BB's.." yeah. Not good. But that is what I have done all my years of college and guess what, all my years of college are almost over."


******

Best Of You
Foo Fighters

I�ve got another confession to make
I�m your fool
Everyone�s got their chains to break
Holdin� you

Were you born to resist or be abused
Is someone getting the best, the best, the best, the best of you
Is someone getting the best, the best, the best, the best of you

Are you gone and onto someone new
I needed somewhere to hang my head without your noose
You gave me something that I didn�t have but had no use
I was too weak to give in, too strong to lose
My heart is under arrest again but I brake loose
My head is giving me life or death but I can�t choose
I swear I�ll never give in, I refuse

Is someone getting the best, the best, the best, the best of you
Is someone getting the best, the best, the best, the best of you

Has someone taken your faith
It's real, the pain you feel
You trust, you must, confess

Is someone getting the best, the best, the best, the best of you
Oh

Oh, oh
Oh, oh

Has someone taken your faith
It's real, the pain you feel
The life, the love you die to heal
The hope that starts
The broken hearts
You trust, you must, confess

Is someone getting the best, the best, the best, the best of you
Is someone getting the best, the best, the best, the best of you

I�ve got another confession my friend, I�m no fool
I�m getting tired of starting again, somewhere new
Were you born to resist or be abused
I swear I�ll never give in, I refuse

Is someone getting the best, the best, the best, the best of you
Is someone getting the best, the best, the best, the best of you

Has someone taken your faith
It's real, the pain you feel
You trust, you must, confess

Is someone getting the best, the best, the best, the best of you
Oh

previous // next // random
0 comments
diaryland