Photobucket
current
archives
profile
about me
cast
links
austinliz
mymichele
email
myspace
fanfic
notes

Allow me to introduce... RICHARD!

June 18, 2005

Hello, Diaryland friends. I would like to introduce you to my newest friend that I have decided to name Richard:

This is my lovely young gentleman, a 2005 Nissan Maxima. For the first time in my life, I have remote keyless entry! Automatic windows! Cruise control! I can turn up my radio from my STEERING WHEEL! WHEEEE!

I did love my precious Julio. After all, I did put about 130,000 miles on him in the 5 years I had him. He was a good boy. *sniff* (Sorry, in my family we always have to personify our inantimate objects. It's just something we do.)

But look at him! Who's going to take me seriously in a 1997 Toyota Rav 4 with 500 bumper stickers on it?

So, here is Richard. Richard came into my life today with the assistance of my dad, who is way too generous and I do feel a little ashamed that I'm 25 and gainfully employed yet my dad had to buy me my new pretty car. But... I will let him do it, because he wants to, and that is okay with me.

To show you what a weird workaholic I have seem to become, I was working today (yes, again, on a Saturday) and I left to go get the car, and the whole time we were there I worried about getting back to work. Not because anyone was looking for me, but because I was right in the middle of a Tales From the Crypt and I felt like I needed to get back to it!

Anyway, my car is pretty. He is named after Richard Dawson, because I need a name and Richard Dawson is almost pretty much a daily part of my life. So. There you go.

That being said, my horoscope for today:
The drive to acquire new stuff is strong, but will it really fill the void? The stars say you may need to look a little deeper to discover what you truly need. Material possessions are just a distraction.

Okay, then. How about not?

Now, I know all of you out there know that I can't get something new and not be all contemplative about it, so here I go. Prepare yourselves!

The thing is... now everything is different. In the past 2 months, pretty much ever since the Matt thing occured.. things are not the same. My life right now is apparently about getting rid of the old and bringing in the new. New job, new work ethic (28 hours of overtime in the last 2 weeks.. that is never something I have even really though about doing before), new apartment, new car, new diet, new... outlook.

It still amazes me that things can change so drastically and in such a quick amount of time. So many things have happened this year when there was so little happening in the years before that. What is it about 2005 that is making everything different? Is it my attitude? Is it the air? Is it the water? Or is it just my time?

Whatever it is, I'm grateful. To have all these positive changes... I am very fortunate to have all these opportunities.

And I haven't tried to contact Matt in 3 weeks, and I haven't talked to him in 2 months. It makes me feel all mysterious and exotic to have a new car and a new apartment without him knowing about it. It's almost like I'm anonymous or something. I dig that.

To kinda wrap all this fun contemplativeness up, I am kinda sad that I have nobody in which to share my new car joy with tonight. My dad's on a date, my mom is in Utah, Ali-Kat is sickly (get better soon, girly!), Donna isn't home, and I really have no other friends in which I could go to their house and honk my horn and have them clamor to be the first one to ride in the front seat with me.

But.. I understand that that's good for me right now. I am proud of myself because of what I am doing and achieving and, uh, acquiring, and the fact that I don't have someone right here enjoying it with me just makes it that much more real.

Or maybe that's just an excuse because I have no friends. Whatever, go with me. I'm on a role.

In other news:
- I'm exhausted.
- I've taken on the task of watching every single episode of CSI in order this summer. I'm only on number 5 of the first season, so this is quite a task.
- The finance guy at the dealership almost made me cry today. We actually had some words and I kinda made him feel like an asshole. And I wasn't even the one buying the car! I love confrontations.
- My dad telling me, "You've lost some weight, girl!" as soon as he saw me today almost made me feel better than when we actually bought the car.

That is all. Here are some pictures.

An awesome cloud that I saw the other day:

Me trying to take a picture of me and Richard together:

More pretty Richard pictures:

Yay!

*****

previous // next // random
0 comments
diaryland