Photobucket
current
archives
profile
about me
cast
links
austinliz
mymichele
email
myspace
fanfic
notes

Text messaging = evil.

January 13, 2005

Don't you hate having to write entries over again? I sure do.

Well, I had a fun 24 hour relationship with my bank boy. Too bad it's apparently over now.

The short story: We exchanged numbers on Tuesday, right? Not 15 minutes later he was sending me text messages.

Now, I just don't get text messages. My roommate and I send them to communicate about feeding and walking PD and what time we'll be home and stuff. Matt and I will sometimes send them with cute little messages or something harmless. But Mike, my bank boyfriend? He apparently wants to have long and involved text message conversations. Back when I dated in high school, you'd at least have to sit in front of a computer and learn how to send an email if you wanted to get to know someone via technology.

Through these messages, I know that his birthday was yesterday (he just turned 26), he's half italian (mmm... italian), and he spells allowed as "aloud". Oh, and when I actually talked to him on the phone on Tuesday night, it was revealed that he has a 4 year old daughter. That's useful information.

Things were peachy until yesterday, when things got a bit out of hand. I was coerced by my coworkers to ask him out to lunch on Friday. He said, "Sure, how about the corner of blah blah and blah blah," which is where he lives. See, he was making a little pervo joke there. Isn't that cute?

So I say something or other, and then he texts back, "did you get that joke?" And I'm like, "Yes pervo, I got it." And then he's apparently insulted that I called him a pervo, and things just kept going downhill from there. He also asked me if I was "freaky" and he said, "Like you haven't been thinking about it."

Umm, okay. First of all? Let's chill with the perviness, Pervy McPerveson. Second, no! I really haven't been thinking about "it" at all!

I mean.. I've been talking about the boy for months, this is true. I even mentioned him in an entry I wrote back in September. I enjoy the witty and flirtaious banter we engage in whenever I'm at the bank. I dig him. I want to get to know him better. But alluding to jumping in bed with him on the first date? On the second day we've ever been talking to each other? That is just NOT cool. I mean, hello! I've been dating a virgin for 7 years! Do I look like that kind of girl?

(a terrible picture of me looking confused)

This is not the introduction to the dating world that I had in mind! But if he's going to be Perv Boy, I'm glad I found that out in the first 24 hours. And if he's going to be a whiny little Capricorn and if I'm going to have to babysit him and his sad little emotional breakdowns, then whatever - I'm out. He hasn't send me any messages in practically 24 hours. I absolutely refuse to send him one first. This is ridiculous! Whatever, dude! I'm not going to be a part of your emotional melodrama. It's not worth it.

So, that was my 24 hour relationship. It was fun while it lasted. And the great fun part about it now is that I can't avoid him.. I go to his bank at least once a week. It's the only branch in Dallas and it doesn't have a drive-thru, so... looks like there will be some awkward conversations in our future.

In other boy news, Matt asked me to go to Austin with him this weekend. Isn't that cute? He hasn't asked me to go anywhere with him in months, and now he's asking me to go on a fun weekend trip with him. It's like there's an electrical current attached to his brain, and whenever any kind of competition arrives, it zaps him in the frontal lobe. Amazing. Just.. amazing.

I'm not going, of course. I just thought it was interesting.

So.. on another completely different subject.. I had yet another job interview this morning. It went well for a while and I really thought I was doing good with the interview, but then The Boss had one of her employees interview me and.. it wasn't pretty. This exceptionally small little chick tried her damndest to intimidate me into submission, and I tried my damndest to hold my own and stand up to her. It was hard, but whatever, she didn't scare me. I'm an interviewing pro by this point.

I really want this job. Not only is it 5 minutes from my apartment, but it's a really great place, the job is something I can do easily, it's entry level, and I just.. really want it. A lot. So.. we'll see.

Also, in good job news, I finally got to stop paying off the taxes I owed and now it's like I have a $100 month raise with my checks. I can handle that. That.. is good news.

I think that is all at the moment. My eyeball is doing a little twitching, which is always an interesting sensation. One of my co-workers is apparently in a funk, and it's like an alien came down and stole her normally easygoing and fun loving disposition and replaced it with a moody meanhead. Don't you hate it when that happens?

My first entry was a lot more entertaining.

previous // next // random
0 comments
diaryland