Photobucket
current
archives
profile
about me
cast
links
austinliz
mymichele
email
myspace
fanfic
notes

Basketball and pride

October 19, 2005

Since I have spent way longer than I should be spending adding songs to my iTunes collection, here's a random sampling of songs that you should all download right now, as per my "party shuffle" !

- Smoke Rings in the Dark, Gary Allen
- Ted Nugent, Stranglehold
- John Lennon, Cold Turkey
- The Great Gig in the Sky, Pink Floyd
- Smashing Pumpkins, Today
- Extreme, More Than Words
- Guns N Roses, November Rain
- Beethoven, 9th Symphony
- Jamie O'Neal, There is No Arizona (which I've played a million billion times over the last couple of weeks)
- Guns N Roses, Move to the City
- INXS, Never Tear us Apart
- Avril Lavigne, I'm With You

Hey, fun!

In completely random news, yesterday after I walked 2 miles around the inside track at the gym, I decided that I needed to play a little basketball.

A little known fact about me: I used to be really, really good at basketball. I mean, I wasn't on a team or anything. I'm just too short for that. I could maybe be on a midget basketball team. But anyway, I'm pretty good at it and I like it and it kinda comes naturally to me. But when I got on the court yesterday, I didn't think I'd be good at all, seeing I haven't even picked up a basketball in a reaaallly long time.

But once I started shooting, I realized that I haven't lost it, man! I wasn't making every shot or anything, but I was making a good majority of them. It made me smile that this is actually something I'm good at it. I was proud of myself, man. And for that short time when I was playing basketball, I didn't care that no boys have tried to contact me lately (Matt One - 6 months, Matt Two - almost a week), I didn't care about anything but the fact that I was actually good at something sports related. Pride is fun.

I guess I'm starting to rebuild my ego. I had an ego for a long time back in college and really for no apparent reason except for the fact that I had maintained a relationship for many years and I didn't know anyone else who managed to do that. But then that relationship ended and so there was 2 years where I had absolutely nothing to be proud about. But now I am totally kicking ass at my job, making new friends, playing basketball...things are okay. Things are good, really. If I could just get it together enough to maintain a relationship now that I'm an "adult," that would just be fanfuckingtastic.

Work is good. J wasn't here today so that made it just a little bit more boring than usual. I did a That 70's Show, which for some reason I didn't really enjoy. I also did some of Elimidate, which is kind of a guilty pleasure. I get a great amount of pride in the fact that I am now the person they go to when there's a deadline and they need something done first. I better get this promotion soon or someone's going to have to die.

On Elimidate, there was this one couple that had a really good looking kiss. I mean, I've never really analyzed on-screen kisses before, but seriously? When I see people kiss on TV, I study it and try to decide if it's as hot as the kissing me and Matt Two participated in. This kiss on Elimidate made me really, really jealous. It definitely was the kind of kissing that used to be a part of my life. *Sigh* I miss kissing.

Okay, I really need to go to bed, but I just had to share all this useless information. Aren't you glad?

*****

1
"I'm going to be confident without being cocky. I'm going to be enthusiastic but not TOO enthusiastic. I'm going to be friendly and happy but not bubbly and obnoxious. I am going to get this job, people. I mean, I just don't understand why I wouldn't."

2
"I'm sure when I first came to Austin they were envisioning me taking it over by storm and by the time I left, I would be a millionaire. And now they're just happy that I'm making burritos. I'm not sure what that says about me, but its probably not good."

3
"While I'm here, I'd like to say that I love BB. I love him lots. He's an amazing human being, people. And like.. whenever we're out together, he's always getting checked out by chicks. He still may be about 50 or 100 pounds overweight, but chicks just love him. Maybe they see a big teddy bear that they just want to love all over or something, I don't know! But they all want him and they all look at me like I'm pure evil for taking their man. Yeeeyuh."

4
"All I can say is, thank God for supportive, horny boyfriends who know HTML."

previous // next // random
0 comments
diaryland