Photobucket
current
archives
profile
about me
cast
links
austinliz
mymichele
email
myspace
fanfic
notes

Rock and roll tragedy.

December 09, 2004

This is seriously depressing and disturbing:

A man charged onstage at a packed heavy metal show in Columbus, Ohio Wednesday night and opened fire, killing at least four people�including Dallas guitarist "Dimebag" Darrell Abbott�before an arriving officer shot and killed him, authorities said.

Columbus police department spokeswoman Sherry Mercurio identified three of the victims of Wednesday's shooting as Abbott, guitarist with the Dallas-based heavy metal rock band Damageplan, and two other men, Nathan Bray and Erin Halk. Bray and Halk were not part of the band.

She identified the gunman as Nathan Gale, 25, of the Marysville area northwest of Columbus. She said there was no information on a motive or if he had any connection to the band.

Abbott, one of metal's top guitarists, and his brother, Damageplan drummer Vinnie Paul Abbott, were original members of thrash rock pioneers Pantera, also from Dallas and one of the most popular metal bands of the early 1990s.

Damageplan had just begun its first song at Alrosa Villa when the man shot Abbott five or six times at point-blank range, a witness said.

The witness, 22-year-old Chris Couch, said he was standing about 30 feet away from the stage when he noticed a man wearing a hooded sweatshirt and hockey jersey walk up to the stage, followed by a bouncer and another club employee.

Okay, so I won't pretend like I was the biggest Pantera fan ever in the world, but I was a fan. They are one of the biggest bands to come out of Dallas, and this is what all the radio stations are talking about this morning. They were basically a Dallas institution. Not to mention the fact that several of my ex-boyfriends must be shedding a tear or two at the moment.. Charles used to wear the same Pantera shirt every single time I saw him. Ryan had a Pantera hat that meant a lot to him that I kinda stole, and in fact still mentioned bitterly, like, 8 years later.

And seriously, what the fuck? We don't have enough to worry about? Now we have to worry about a fucktard coming in and getting ONSTAGE and shooting a MEMBER OF THE BAND? What is WRONG with people these days?

I just don't get it.

****

I went to Matt's last night for a bit. We should all know and appreciate that. I got to play with Bailey the beagle, and um, other things. All I have to say about that is: G-Spot stimulation is never a bad thing.

****

So yesterday was Amanda's birthday, and I emailed her through classmates.com, and I know she got it because I got a return recepit that says she read it. But she didn't respond! And she didn't respond to the last email I sent her! And now I'm starting to wonder if I offended her in some kind of way, or maybe I bored her to death, or something along those lines.

I just don't understand why she didn't respond and just between you and me, it's kind of hurting my feelings a little! We were best friends for at least 5 years, and the fact that she doesn't give three shits about talking to me makes me a little sad.

This entry is WAY too grumpy, and I apologize.


****

During my fun poinsettia delivery yesterday, I stopped by this fancy restaurant to see my mom and dad, who were having a lovely lunch together.

Now, they've been divorced for 10 years now and everybody is very much over the situation, but still seeing them together without their respective partners makes me a little happy in a little kid kind of way. It happens so rarely and there's just a different kind of dynamic there, you know? I enjoyed the brief time I was there.

And it was interesting to see that my dad still gave my mom a check for Christmas even though she's remarried and such. But I digress.

Yay mommy and daddy.

*****

I guess that's all I have today. I have a job interview later for a position I'm not too interested in, but I can't really afford to be picky at this point. I had a phone interview yesterday for a job I really want lots and lots, but I think I flubbed some of the questions. Whatever. Jobs. Blah.

I need to blow my nose.

*****

a year..
"5 years with him, 8 months off so he could pursue the other love of his life, 6 months having a long distance relationship later... our relationship is just based on FUCKING SEX AND COMPANIONSHIP? Don't you think that maybe, just fucking MAYBE I deserve a little FUCKING more than that FUCKING BULLSHIT?"

2 years..
"If he would ask me to come over like, right now.. I would defy every possible law to get there. Even though I really should stay here and get some stuff done before I do that, I wouldn't put it past me to just hurdle myself down the stairs into my car. Sad. And shitty.

It's not fair. He fucking said, "True, true" to me telling him I missed him. Someday he's going to regret that, damnit."

Three years..
"W is for W. Axl Rose! Yeah, so who else could I put for W? Axl's intials are W.A.R and his name is an anagram for Oral Sex. That clever clever Axl! What are we gonna do with him?!"

previous // next // random
0 comments
diaryland