Photobucket
current
archives
profile
about me
cast
links
austinliz
mymichele
email
myspace
fanfic
notes

Dream On, Second Interviews, and snooty parties.

December 13, 2004

On the way to work this morning, I saw a dude with a license plate that said the very simple "Metal". The dude didn't look very metal, though, so it was a bit disappointing.

I also almost ran out of gas and was eventually 10 minutes late to work so Julio (my car, you see) wouldn't die on me. Julio and I have never run out of gas together. Sooo.. we're special.

****

I think it's quite important to note that the guy I interviewed with on Thursday liked me enough to want to do a second interview.

That's right. You heard me. A second interview!

All stupid GM customer service jobs and failed caption editing jobs aside, this is seriously the first time I've ever been called back for a SECOND interview, and this excites me A LOT. I mean, first of all, I applied for the job when it was on Monster. He said he got 120 resumes in one day! And to think that not only did I get a first interview, but now I get a second one? Dude, I rocked that interview.

My second interview is tomorrow and I'm a bit nervous because the guy who talked to me last time won't be there, so now I have to hit it off with two more people, and who knows if I can have the kind of rapport that I did with him? But also, I'm going to get to do a writing sample for them, which is good because I can show my actual skills.

So.. pray, keep your fingers crossed, do whatever it is you do if you'd like to give a sister good vibes. This would be such an awesome opportunity for me, even if the job itself does actually terrify me.

Woo.

****

So last night was the snooty party. First of all, I looked pretty decent. I had the push-up bra action, I had the flowy black skirt, I had the red button down shirt, the black opaque tights, the new strappy shoes. The shoes weren't very sexy. My dad said they looked like "English School Teacher" shoes. So maybe not with the shoes.

I was anxiously anticipating the arrival of my two boyfriends, Client Guy and Farm Guy. But, hark, neither of them showed up and after 3 hours I had to leave out of sheer boredom and disappointment. I got home just in time to watch Desperate Housewives, which was a lot more interesting than that damn party.

It doesn't surprise me that Farm Guy didn't come, because you know, the whole me not liking people who come to the dance theory. But Client Guy? I would assume that he would have really liked to have kissed my dad's ass a little by showing up. Oh well. There's always next year.

****

Yesterday I was at church from 9:30 to 2:30, and it was good good times. I really should have taken a shower before I went, though, because I met a million new people with my hair looking all gross. Well! I didn't have time, damnit!

But I went to Sunday school and learned about stuff that I don't remember because I was mostly doodling. Church Boy was not there... I guess he's still out of town. But I will see him on Thursday, oh yes I will. I'm thinking about making cookies so he can see how domestic I am. Yeah man.

Then I went to the service, and it was so awesome because I had a million people to sit with. I kept running into people I knew and I was all, "Look how much I rock!" and such. The guy who was in my Tuesday night small group who I thought in the beginning was the single one but who in fact was the nearly engaged one sat next to me during the service. It was rocktacular.

Next came the fun "Meet the Pastor" brunch. I went to this yesterday because they keep sending me an invitation every month, and I wanted them to keep their damn postage next month. It was a good time, though. I met a lot of new people and learned about the staff of the church and had some bacon and like 13 glasses of water, and again I sat next to Mr. Newly Engaged. My social skills were awesome, people. A year or two ago, I would probably not have been able to handle this situation. But now? I rock.

Unfortunately, the course that I was going to be a small group leader for was cancelled until next fall. But a fun development is that they teach the course at a little prison in East Texas, and I have volunteered to participate in that. I don't know why, but that really intruiges me for some reason. So yay prison!

****

The Buick commercial with "Dream On" by Aerosmith in the background depresses me to no end. I mean, BUICK! Buick is for senior citizens! Dream On is the greatest song EVER and they let BUICK use it?

*a lone tear falls from my eye*

****

That is all. I am perhaps going to get paid today, which is always a good thing. I have a busy social calender coming up, plus my interview tomorrow, so it looks to be an exciting week.

Rock out with your cock out!

*****

a year ago...
"In other news, Matt is coming up with ideas for our sex life that definitely wouldn't make him a virgin anymore. But he keeps making excuses, like, "I'm a virgin until I penetrate and orgasm through penetration." Where do I find these guys?"

2 years ago...
"As of 8:25 on Friday, December 13th, 2002, I am officially free. I have no job. I have no place to live. I have no boyfriend tying me down. I am now going to join the ranks of the millions of other confused 20somethings that have no idea what to do with their lives.

As I write this, I can't really pinpoint my exact feeling about that. 6 months ago I thought I'd be engaged by now. I thought I'd be moving closer to BB, I'd have a job on a newspaper in Dallas, and we'd get to see each other all the time. I'd get to make dinner for him 2 or 3 times a week. We'd move in together soon. I thought I'd be going to Las Vegas for New Years Eve with him. I thought we would be taking steps to spend the rest of our lives together."

3 years..
"Today's all day studying didn't quite go as planned. In the hours before 3:30, I was caught up in trying to buy Guns N Roses tickets, consequently putting me $435 in debt."

previous // next // random
0 comments
diaryland