Photobucket
current
archives
profile
about me
cast
links
austinliz
mymichele
email
myspace
fanfic
notes

My twenty fifth year on this planet.

October 12, 2004

Something terrible has happened! I woke up this morning and all of a sudden, I was 25 years old!

Alright, so it's not that bad. But it's still slightly terrifying. You know, that whole "I really should be further in life than I am at this point" kind of thing.

Some resolutions for my 25th year on this planet: (despite all the obvious ones)

1. I really need to stop talking so much. Seriously. Yesterday was "All Farm Guy talk, All Day Long" at work, which might be cute and charming, but really, just mostly pathetic. I enjoy the fact that I can be myself around the people I work with, but that doesn't mean I have to tell them EVERYTHING. Woops.. too late for that. So, my resolution is to not express every thought in my head at every moment that I have them. So.

2. I should probably cook more. And clean more. You know, woman duties.

3. I need to not be so reflective at all times. Looking back at old diaries and stuff is fine, but doing it on a regular basis is not.

4. I really need to be a safer driver.

Yeah, and other stuff.

So, this year wasn't that bad. I have held down a full time job for almost 8 months now, and that's something to be proud of, even if it's not my dream job. (Note to you doubters: my dad can fire me, thank you very much. He has before. It is possible.) I really did a good job of working on my social skills, too! And I am proud of that, man. Last night I was in a little room with three boys for three hours (for the radio show, people! Get your minds out of the gutter) and I had no problem talking to any of them, and I know for a fact that my social retardation didn't make a big appearance at all.

So, good times. Yay 25. This will be my year, or something. Today I'm going to have On the Border for lunch and tomorrow I will begrudingly accept the fact that I am starting a diet.

And this morning, the most excitement I had was hearing "Pour some Sugar on Me" on the radio. I LOVE that song, man!


*****


My horoscope for today:

Happy Birthday: This is not a year to waste your time waiting for other people. Make your choices and follow through. Too much idle time will leave you in a rut that is hard to get out of. Your numbers are 5, 13, 22, 23, 35, 49

and


LIBRA (Sept. 23-Oct. 22): An opportunity is evident, but you must look at all the possibilities before you move forward. Someone may lead you astray or tend to be greedy.


*****

So, the radio show.

First of all, if you ever have a chance to be on your favorite AM radio station that you have been listening to for 5 years, take it! It's almost a surrealish experience to be in the place that your radio people are every single day.

Of course it was fun to be on the radio and talk to thousands of people and be cute and have opinions and such, but it was A LOT different than it was last time. The big difference was the fact that instead of me just being on one segment and having different people for each segment, me and two other people were on the entire 3 hours. I wasn't prepared for that! But the thing about that 3 hours was that none of us, except the host, really got to talk much at all. We had some topics (the elections, the OU/Texas game, the Cowboys game) that the host (who is soooooo hot.. his ARMS, my god! And he had a wallet chain! I'm a sucker for wallet chains for some reason) had some big opinions about, so we didn't talk much.


My favorite part of the show was when I threw in a reference to Village of the Damned when talking about Christopher Reeve. I mentioned that I went on a first date to that movie (with Ryan) and it went well. I even managed to put in a Four Horsemen reference for Matt, just in case he might have been listening out there on the road. You gotta love me for that, man.


It was kind of a let down, really.. I guess that's just because last time it was really more focused on me and my weird knowledge of 80's hair metal bands than you know, other stuff. But it's always nice to pay a visit to my favorite radio station, even if they didn't think I was good enough to hire me as a marketing assistant a few months ago.

Rock on.

*****

Oh man alive! I can't stand this fucking Los Lonely Boys "How Far is Heaven" crap fest. *cringe*

OH GOD! The radio is not my friend right now because they are now playing "It's Your Love", me and Matt's song. I swear, if he doesn't at least ACKNOWLEDGE my fucking birthday in SOME FUCKING CAPACITY today ("Hi! I'm Matt! I'm going to be out of town on Elizabeth's birthday so that I have ABSOLUTELY NO RESPONSIBILITY to do ANYTHING about it!), no nookie for him. For like, 2 weeks. Yeah man. I'm so tough.


Later: Matt gets to live another day for calling me and leaving me a nice little message. Let's all breath a sigh of relief.


*****

So, these mornings where it's only 52 degrees and chilly and you need a jacket before it heats up later in the day really brings me back to 9 or 10 years ago when Ali-Kat and I used to go to our local elementary school and wait for the bus to pick us up. Those were the days, man. I didn't have a car, I didn't have a job, but I did have a kind of freedom that you can only have when you're that young. Good times, man. Good times.

*****

Some radio station pictures:



Bonus pics:


*****
a year ago...
"And after, Scott said "Every guy in this place wishes he were you right now." And normally, I do enjoy the occasional liason with chicks in general. But truth be told, I really didn't enjoy it that much. It was embarrasing, really. My boobs were out in plain view to at least 20 people. What worried me the most was that Scott was getting a nice view of the boobs, and I really don't think we've gotten to that point in our friendship where I'd really be comfortable with that. But he says he didn't see that because he was sitting a little too far away.

I think that might be the last time in my life that a stripper whispers in my ear, "Do you like to be spanked?"

2 years...
"I learned another lesson from my mom today: if you think something is wrong, something is probably wrong."

3 years..
"I saw a guy the other day wearing a shirt that said "Amature Gynecologist," and he was reading Jane magazine. That was a little confusing, yet highly fascinating, to me."

previous // next // random
0 comments
diaryland