Photobucket
current
archives
profile
about me
cast
links
austinliz
mymichele
email
myspace
fanfic
notes

Sideswippers, public drunkeness, and good huggers

August 07, 2005

So, tonight I learned a few things. First of all, I learned that "open bar" apparently means to me "drink until you make an ass out of yourself at your best friend's wedding reception and then proceed to talk her mom's ear off all night." I learned that getting sideswiped by a guy who just went to his daughter's funeral really sucks. And I learned that meeting internet people and their friends at a bar is a good way to break the ice.

You know I can't leave it at that, though, so here's some festivities for you.

Ali-Kat and her husband had their long overdue wedding reception this evening, and it was quite lovely. I guess I decided that would be a good time to drink myself to death, so I had some red wine, a white russian, some Bailey's, and a bit of margarita. I then had to leave and go to the bathroom approximately 8 times. But hey, I had fun, and Ali-kat looked very glowey.

It's tax free weekend in Texas so I decided I needed to buy something new to wear tonight. I bought this fancy Seven shirt. Apparently Seven things are magical because everything I've tried on by them always looks really good. But...you have to pay the price. For this one simple Seven tank top thingie, it was $80. Hello? I'll just take that right up the ass, please.

So, naturally, I wanted to get some mileage out of that baby. When the reception was over, I called Matt Two to see what he was doing. He was at a bar, it would seem, and he asked if I wanted to join him. I did. We already have plans for tomorrow, but I have no patience and want immediate gratification. I like this guy and I want to meet him, right?

So, I'm fast on my way to Lewisville, nervous and excited. When I'm approximately 12 seconds from the bar, I get sideswiped. And man, am I pissed. Some dude hit my baby Stella! My brand new baby! It was totally not my fault. He was trying to get in my lane and just didn't see me.

So, we pull over and I'm all pissed, but there's something about the guy that makes me start feeling bad for him, so I apologize. I'm all, "I'm sorry I was an ass, but these things are scary." And then he says, "Yeah, and I just buried my daughter today." ohmygod. I just...didn't even know what to say. So I apologized 1,000 times and we exchanged info and that was just really awesome.

So then I make my way to the bar, finally, and I call Matt Two to tell him I'm there. He comes out to look at the damage on my car. We try to ignore the fact that this is the very first time we've ever met in our lives.

So, what do I think? I think he looks exactly like his picture, which is good. He's really tall and just a big guy, and I really happen to like that. A lot. He was wearing glasses, and that's cute. He has a goatee thing going on. He was smoking and drinking a Coors Light. We played darts and I almost kicked everyone's ass. We got along really well and joked around and I made him laugh and I had a Shiner Bock and it was good times all around. He had his friends there, so it wasn't as awkward as it could have been. Plus, I was rocking the whole black skirt/ridiclously expensive shirt combo and lookin' good, sooo.

I think...I THINK I made a good first impression. I do not know this for sure. We seemed to get along well and we still have plans for tomorrow. What is discouraging to me right now is when I called him a few minutes to tell him that I was home and we only talked for like 45 seconds and I didn't get the impression he was all that excited to hear from me. I hope that I didn't ruin everything with all the alcohol coursing through my body. I really, really hope that I didn't turn him off with my freakness.

You know what I like about him? He's a genuine person. He's just...real. He's honest. Like, I have this problem of not really looking people in the eye when they talk to me, just because I've always been that way. I've had eye surgery twice, and I don't think my eyes are my best feature, really. And this guy, Matt Two? He called me on it. He asked why I wasn't looking him in the eye and I told him why. What I liked about that was he didn't make assumptions, he didn't write it off as a flaw or whatever, he just asked about it.

So, we'll see tomorrow. I hope I didn't fuck this up because while we were at the bar, I got the impression that he might just be the first guy that's ever really appreciated me for what I really truly am. My smart-assness, my ability to tell his friend that "Radar Love" is by Golden Earring, my weird skill at Darts even though I've never played before, my insane cleavage that my wonderful push up bra provided...yeah. But, again, I suck at being able to figure these things out, so, we'll see tomorrow. For now, I can tell you that I really liked hugging him. He's a good hugger. I want more of that.

That is all.

previous // next // random
0 comments
diaryland