Photobucket
current
archives
profile
about me
cast
links
austinliz
mymichele
email
myspace
fanfic
notes

Liz's good stuff and good time bag of fun.

June 02, 2005

I did actually have some kind of plan for tonight, at least an outline. I was going to come home, take a nap, and then go at the unpacking with a vengence. But, it's just too damn hot and the air conditioner isn't so airy or conditioning and all I have the patience to do tonight is sit around in my underwear and watch CSI. Well, there's always tomorrow night.

Good things:

- My supervisor informed me on Tuesday that she went ahead and took me out of my probation period last week. That news is very, very good on so very many levels.

First of all, more money! A lot more money than I've ever made, anyway. Plus, now I can do overtime, and as everyone has told me, that's really the only way you can make a lot of money at this job. So, that is good news.

Second, I've also been told that some of my co-workers took a few months longer than 6 to get things down and get out of their probation period. I know I still have A LOT to learn and there's still some stuff that I need to be more careful about, but it makes me feel all warm inside that they have so much faith in me. I mean, really! I wasn't expecting this until August!

The moral here? I rock, obviously.

Third, since we're being all sequential-like, to actually have job security and not be worried every day about getting fired and having to begin the horrendous evil that is looking for a job.. it's almost a luxury. I've never, ever had that luxury before. I can put my feet up on the desk and continue to work hard because I know they believe in me.

And that is so very important. I can't even begin to tell you how important that is. Although I'm sure you can probably guess. To be good at a job, to actually be beneficial, to actual be a contributing team member.. it just means so much to me. This is what I've been looking for ever since I graduated. This is what I wanted.

I mean, I don't get to write, and that's not all that great. But, I do get to watch Step By Step and Full House all day long! Do you get to do that at your job? My job makes me giggle every single day. Sometimes it makes me want to vomit. I mean, seriously, have you guys ever really watched Full House? Some of the shows I can actually laugh at, but some of them, the ones that heavily feature Michelle, for instance... vomit.

I was also disturbed by a Guns N Roses reference they made on Full House. Come on, DJ... don't be dissing my Axl.

ANYWAY. Also, it takes about 5 minutes less to get their from my new apartment than it did the old one. I dig it.

So, all in all, the job situation is pretty rocktastic at the moment. I got over my Obviously Gay Supervisor crush because I didn't seem him for a full week, so that helps. And I haven't had any other dreams about Charles Nelson Reilly, either.

- I went to my endocrinologist on Tuesday. I was obviously interested in how much weight I've lost since I went last time. I was hoping it would be more than 15 pounds. That's what my scale at home says, anyway.

But, no. In 6 weeks, I've lost 10 pounds. And that's not bad. As my mom pointed out, that's a solid 10 pounds, not just water weight or whatever. And I can really tell those 10 pounds have made an awesome difference. Those pounds must be including some lost inches, too, because NONE of my pants fit anymore, they're all falling off my ass. That is a very satisfying feeling.

But.. I have to lose more. I'm kinda slacking a little with that, but once I get paid again, I'm getting another prescription for Meridia. I would buy it now, but are you aware that shit is pretty much $100 a bottle? Uh huh. Seriously. But with my RAISE, I can buy it next check! WooHOO!

I haven't worked out this week because I've been trying to move the rest of my shit out of the old apartment, which is pretty much a work out in itself. Going up and down 3 flights of stairs about 20 or 30 times will definitely help with the cardio.

I need to get me some bottled water. Please hold.

Mmm, Dasani.

- I went to my writing class last night, and I am totally not trying to be dramatic when I say that this class? Will be the greatest class I have ever taken.

I mean, obviously I'm going to like it because I chose to take it and it's not for credit or anything. But like.. it's been a really long time since I've been in a classroom, and I can tell. I'm like.. different. I was chatty, I contributed to the discussion, I was witty, I was really into the subject matter.

The class is at a community college where I took some summer classes (math, history, speech) about 5 years ago. It's so interesting to me to know how entirely much I've changed since the last time I was in a class on that campus.

I know everybody changes a lot in 5 years, but it's just so refreshing to me. 5 years ago, I was living with my mom during the summer, spending every single extra second I had with Matt, not caring about my classes or really anything that didn't have to do with him. I've said it before, but I have to say it again.. after so many years without a single thing changing, it's so nice to actually look back and see positive, life affirming changes.

If you really want to know what I'm talking about here, read my entry from a year ago. It pretty much says the opposite of everything I'm writing here today. And that was just a year ago, people. As a matter of fact, I seemed to be going through something similar 2 years ago, too. It must be a summer thing. Hopefully this summer I can actually be *gasp* mentally competent!

ANYWAY, (I seem to be saying that a lot tonight) the teacher is just a teeny bit crazy. First of all, she was 15 minutes late. Then, as soon as she came into the classroom, she stood on a chair and said, "HONOR THE WORDS!" A little while later, she had a hysterical laughing fit that lasted about 3 minutes. It would have been okay if the rest of us knew what the hell she was laughing about. It was actually kind of creepy, really.

But I know that I'm going to learn so much in this class, and I'm really looking forward to actually writing the short story. I don't know what it's going to be about yet, but it has to be edgy and not all lovey dovey like most of my stories end up being. This one has to be hardcore. I'm looking forward to it.

Once again, I've talked way too much, blah blah blah. Do any of you realize that at the end of this month, I will have been at Diaryland for 4 years?! That's seriously a lot of really long and monotonus entries.

Some quick hits before I go:

- Good lord, do I love my high speed internet. If it were a boy, I'd marry it and kiss it all the time.

- I seem to have a fascination with every single one of Kelly Clarkson's songs.

- It's supposed to rain tomorrow! Yay!

- My mommy is driving to Utah currently. How am I going to make it a whole summer without my mommy? I guess the same way I did for the last 2 summers. Bah.

But, there is the whole visiting her in the beginning of July thing to look forward to. I'm going to Vegas in less than a month! YAAYHOEOHWOOWOWW!

- I swear, that's all.

****

a year...
"It's just about growing up, and I haven't done that yet, and I don't know how."

2 years...
"And I know why I'm so alone.. it's because most of the time, I choose to be alone. And I choose to be alone because I'm just too weird to go out with other people."

3 years...
"4 years of college, people, and 6 more months to go. I don't know whether I'm sad or happy about this, but I just want to move on. I want to be closer to BB because I miss him already and we've only been apart 12 hours. Bah! Bah on society in general."

previous // next // random
0 comments
diaryland