Photobucket
current
archives
profile
about me
cast
links
austinliz
mymichele
email
myspace
fanfic
notes

twenty-something drama queen seeks readers

August 15, 2006

There comes a time in every girl's life when she wakes up and suddenly realizes, "Hey! I'm a drama queen! I'm the queeniest person to ever be dramatic!" It's not exactly a...good revelation to have.

I don't know why I never realized I was a drama queen before now, but I am. It's a stupid, pointless thing to be and it brings too much stress to the people who have to deal with me. I really need to figure out how to not be so retarded about this, and I need to do it preferably sooner than later. Why? Because it's dumb.

I had this sudden drama queen realization last week when I was talking with co-workers and realized that, for some reason, I have to have a conflict, a reason to hate at least one of my co-workers or else work won't be fun. My current rival is a chick that happened to get a promotion instead of me in what I like to call the Great Procrastination Event of 2006. It just seems like things come so much more easily to her than to me, and I mean good things, happy promotion and good assignment type of things. Also, she squeaks when she's overly excited and that annoys me. So, I have picked her as my target even though she's really a nice human, we get along, and we have stuff in common.

Now I am seeing how I am a drama queen in all other areas of my life, as well. If I really started talking about it I'd be here forever, so just know that I am reexamining things and noticing just how much I need to reconfigure in order to give this affliction up.

Being a drama queen is not something to aspire to, I think we can all agree on that. It's ugly and there's no use for it. And what frightens me more is that it seems to get worse as I get older. I'm almost 27 years old, doesn't this have to go away sooner or later? Isn't there a statute of limitations on how dramatic you get to be? I don't want to be an old lady drama queen, I can tell you that.

And now, the drama of the day comes to us from, what else, my job. Jobby McJoberson. What's happening now is that 3 new people were hired and now overtime for me is just about impossible, unless:
a. I want to wait around for an hour until the 4:30 people leave, and then do a couple of hours, possibly leaving at 7:30 or maybe even 8:30, when I've been there since 7 AM already.
b. Get to work early. If I want to do 2 hours, get there at 5 AM. Oh, yeah, funnnn!
c. Do it only on weekends, but you can only do it one weekend day and there's a limit to how many hours that one can do.

And then there's the option of not doing it at all and letting them sweat it for a while and then maybe getting it together enough to get another computer or something, or maybe, la la la, realizing that I am a valuable employee and give me another opportunity at that promotion so that I can make decent enough money so I don't have to do overtime. Longest sentence ever? Probably. BUt anyway, with that option, I actually do lose money. Now, I don't technically need that money, not right now while I still have an apartment, but I want to get a house by the end of the year and I'm thinking extra money is a good thing right now.

That's a really long explanation and I don't blame you if you're not even reading this right now, but it's really on my mind and it's driving me crazy when really, I can just stick to those options and chill the fuck out. Why does everything have to be life or death with me? Why can't I just take control over my life and stop blaming everything on everyone else?

Sounds good.

That's about it. Drama Queen...out!

previous // next // random
0 comments
diaryland