Photobucket
current
archives
profile
about me
cast
links
austinliz
mymichele
email
myspace
fanfic
notes

My mommy and me!

May 15, 2008

Hey, a real entry! Rock on.

First order of business: the CSI finale. I don't know if y'all remember, but last year the finale made me 50 kinds of insane, for like MONTHS. This year was completely hardcore--they killed off Warrick! Shot him in the neck, of all things! So I was suitably shocked and appalled and surprised, but not particularly moved. I've never been completely fond of Warrick, so it's not the biggest loss to me. But I do think there may be a fanfic that needs to be written about it.

I worked on the finale for Ghost Whisperer, and I almost DID cry during that one! I have become emotionally attached to this show, and I will not apologize for that anymore. My first purchase tomorrow in honor of pay day are the first 2 seasons of it on DVD. Also, if you're a fan at all: WATCH IT. Trust me on this.

Anyway, real life! My mom came from Utah to visit for a week. It was lovely. We did lots of interesting activities, including:

The first night she was here, we went to dinner with my dad and my cousin Tom. It was nice but a tad on the boring side. The funny part happened the next day, when my cousin, who has known my mom pretty much his entire life and is only 10 years younger than her, called her and like nearly DEMANDED to see her. He never gave a reason, and she was all, "Um, I don't have time, sorry about that." I think he's always had a crush on her and wanted to see her away from the watchful eyes of my dad, but...so creepy. I don't know what he wanted, exactly, and it will forever be a mystery.

I had Friday and Monday off. On Thursday night, me and my mom and Ali-Kat and my BFF from work, K, and also my mom's BFF since junior high school went to see Forgetting Sarah Marshall. I didn't know if K would get along with everyone, 'cause she's really sarcastic and you kind of just have to get her. But everyone did, and we ended up having a lot of fun. Like, more fun than I've had in a long time. The movie was also hilarious, if not raunchy as hell. Full frontal nudity in the first 5 minutes!

We wanted to go to dinner afterwards but apparently everything in Dallas is closed after 10 at night. Lame. We ended up at Cafe Brazil where I had chocolate chip pancakes with no syrup. WTF.

On Friday I got my hair cut by the chick who's been doing it since I was 12. I haven't been to her in a few years and I don't know why because she did such an awesome job. She cut 3 inches and dyed it "Merlot". It looks loverly.

Then my mom and I went to Austin. I love me the Austin, yes I do. We went to my brother's new condo and met Abby the wonder puppy. My brother and his boyfriend had a boxer named Rogue, but she got run over about a month ago. Right in front of them. And the driver didn't stop. They got a new puppy pretty much immediately, and Abby is fucking adorable and I miss her and want to go back to Austin so I can cuddle her all night.

We didn't really do anything interesting on Friday but we did go to the candy store, Big Top. Candy stores=awesome. We then went back to the condo and played Uno. Seriously.

On Saturday we first had lunch at this amazing Mexican food place, and then we all got pedicures, which was awesome. I forgave the nice Korean lady for asking if I was pregnant, because they did that the last time I was there and I figure they just think that all fat people are pregnant. I mean, they must. Right? Whatever.

Later we went to an employee of my brother's wedding. It was outside and hot as crap, and before the bride came out, there was a bit of thunder. And as soon as she walks out, the rain starts. So we stand in the rain for 20 minutes and it was pretty neato. I wouldn't mind getting married in the rain, not at all.

The reception was a little tense for me because I didn't really know anyone and that always makes me nervous. But 4 glasses of wine later and everything was A-OK! My mom and I both lost earrings on the dance floor! Really! And then we all went home and played Uno. And watched Lars and the Real Girl, which I was really too drunk to care about. But really, the whole town played into that one guy's weird fantasy? Those are some devoted people.

On Sunday, we had Mother's Day brunch at Whole Foods, and then, after not being able to decide what to do next, we went to the pool for 2 hours and got some much needed sun. I swam! God, I love to swim. So very much.

This is the most boring account of events ever! But I'm not finished.

We left after our sun bathing adventures and went back to Dallas. On Sunday night I went over to Josh's to fulfill some needs, if you know what I'm saying. On Monday, I actually worked out for once and then we ruined it all by eating some Chipotle. And then we saw Iron Man, which was completely amazing. After that, we visited some of my mom's friends who still live in the same houses that I visited countless times when I was younger. Their houses are like walking into a time warp. It was so creepy, but I guess there's something comforting about things when they NEVER change.

I had to take her to the airport on Tuesday morning. What was cool is that the airport is on my way to work. Like, I pass by it every day, so it was just like a neat little stop before I went to work. It's the little things, people. I was sad that she left because we had a nice time, but she did drive me a little crazy with certain things, and I will see her again in July when I go to visit her in Utah.

For now, I'm up way too late and my bed is calling me. I'm sure I've forgotten to say a lot of things, and I'm sure there will be an entry in the future that will address these things, as usual.

I am tired. Good night.

previous // next // random
0 comments
diaryland