Photobucket
current
archives
profile
about me
cast
links
austinliz
mymichele
email
myspace
fanfic
notes

Ode to Ali-Kat

July 25, 2005

In an effort to talk about something other than my complete failure of a love life, I wish to discuss something today. What do I wish to discuss? I wish to discuss having the bestest best friend ever.

I haven't kept in touch with most of the people I met in junior high and high school. Occasionaly I'd find someone online or dig out their phone number and call or email them just out of curiosity, but 9 times out of 10 that really hasn't worked out for me, even with people I considered to be a vital part of my life back then.

But there is one person who will always be in my life, no matter how many times we each try to fuck it up. That would be Ali-Kat, of course, and I think you all should know how much she rocks your ass.

We've had our share of complete meltdowns and backstabbing controversies and weird truth-or-dare orgies, just to name a few, not to mention things that I can't mention, but you know what I mean. And yet I can still call her on a Sunday afternoon to go see a movie with me, and then come back to my place and get lost in old yearbooks for so long her husband has to call and ask if she's ever coming home. Maybe the reason why we're always destined to be in each other's lives is because we were born a day apart. Not a year and a day, but just one single tiny day. So no matter how shitty things get between us, someday we will drift back into each other's lifes, somewhat carefully at first, because that's just what we do.

Not only does she let me talk about my love life until I can't even think of anything else to say, not only does she want to hear the crap that I write about, but she shares a lot of my past with me and remembers a lot more than I do sometimes, such as my constellation underwear that I kinda almost would like back at some point. I dig that.

I also admire her very much for pursuing a career in something as challenging as becoming a pharamacist, and her ability to learn the math on the crazy test she had to take, and her love for completely random japanese girl bands and her talent with computer stuff and and and yeah. *Drool*

For a really, really long time, my only best friend was Matt and I didn't feel like I needed anyone else. That's all fine and good, but you need someone who's got your back, someone who's known you since you were 12 and weird looking and had unfortunate hair and who introduced you to your first boyfriend. Matt was good because I spend every waking moment with him and we know all the intimate details about each other and how to give each other orgasms and such, but that wasn't good enough. It just wasn't.

Our motto used to be "The things we do for love" because, uh, we were crazy. But now she has found her true love and I have not, and while that would have made me jealous back when everything about her made me jealous, I'm only truly happy that she found someone who will take care of her. Okay, maybe I'm like, 11% jealous. I want to be married too, man!

I swear I didn't write this because she reads it. Hi, woman! How's it going? Yeah, right, right. Countdown to Destruction by Megadeth is on TV right now, remember Megadeth? They were Eddie's favorite band or something.

Anyway, yay for Ali-Kat, and I will now end this smooch fest so I can go to bed and pretend to care about the annoying people on the third season of The Amazing Race. Doesn't that sound like fun for a Tuesday?

OMG, I so fucking love VH1 Classic! I'm going through a John Lennon phase at the moment, and they're playing the video for his version of Stand By Me! Wow, it's giving me goosebumps. I'v ebeen playing this song in my car over and over for the past week. I so fucking love this song! Okay, I'm okay, really.

By the way, Wedding Crashes almost made me pee in my pants. Best.movie.ever.

I'm noticing a theme in my archives...it seems almost every year at this time, I have some kind of Josh resurgence. Last year it was a closure dream, 2 years before that it was something else, 4 years ago it was something else. And this year, just completely randomly, I have some kind of obsession with finding him and talking to him again. What is that? We didn't even make it to this point in the summer...by this time, we had been broken up for almost a month. And hey, guess what? That was 8 FUCKING YEARS AGO! So what the hell is that all about? So weird.

Also, soon I will have either TiVO or a DVR, and that excites me. I know I'm like 5 years behind on that, but I'm slow.

Also, I think I might be getting carpal tunnel in my right wrist, and it's kinda starting to worry me.

*****

1
"Last night I had this weird dream about Josh. But it was different, because although we were going to get together and get our freak on, just before the action started, I stopped it and made him go home. I feel like that's a good dream. Like maybe my subconscious is telling me that I'm finally over that whole yucky situation. And that is good."

2
"And the quality people, they randomly choose calls to listen to. They chose to listen to the call where I told this guy that I thought his car might be haunted. Tip to aspiring Customer Service slaves: Don't do that. It's not "professional." And apparently people at work like you to be professional."

3
"I am a bitter woman, you see, and I figured if maybe I wrote down all the reasons why I'm bitter, they can all escape from my body and I won't be bitter anymore."

4
"I am enjoying being anonymous on here. I haven't even told anyone my real name, not that it would really matter."

previous // next // random
0 comments
diaryland