Photobucket
current
archives
profile
about me
cast
links
austinliz
mymichele
email
myspace
fanfic
notes

High school reunion!

October 05, 2008

I've posted this everywhere else that I possibly could, so here it is for my original blogging friends. Last night was my high school reunion, and I decided to make A Day in My Life out of the occasion. It was good times. I probably could have gotten more out of it but I didn't feel TOTALLY socially awkward, just a little. More:

Photobucket

I wake up to these creatures, my boyfriend Josh's babies Iris and Lily.
Photobucket

I say goodbye to Josh so I can go home and get ready for the first activity of the day: reunion picnic! Yeah, I know he's hot.
Photobucket

My car, Stella, tells me it is way early to be up on a Saturday. Also, the song playing on the radio is Don't Fear the Reaper. More Cowbell!
Photobucket

I need gas, but I ignore the yellow light until later.
Photobucket

Get home, check the mail. RIP, Paul.
Photobucket

Before I do anything else, I check my email.
Photobucket

Shower time!
Photobucket

So I take my shower, brush my teeth, break out the curling iron I haven't used in probably years, and then search for something appropriate to wear. The problem with gaining, uh, some weight since high school is that there really isn't anything to wear that I feel particularly good in. I settle on a blue shirt from the Gap. This is my unhappy face with my wardrobe choice and with the fact that I'm now running 15 minutes late and still need gas:
Photobucket

Gas prices:
Photobucket

For those of you who have ever watched Dallas, you might find this building by the gas station familiar:
Photobucket

So before I go to the picnic, I have to bring Stella into the Nissan dealership. I took her in last week because I needed a headlight bulb replaced. Apparently that wasn't the problem and they instead spent 3 hours tearing my Stella apart looking for the problem. Diagnosis: headlight assembly needs to be replaced. Yay warranties!
Photobucket

My BFF and reunion partner Alison picks me up at the dealership. This is both of our reactions to where we're going:
Photobucket

Seriously, we're like nervous teenagers about to go on a first date. We don't know why we're so nervous, it's just a reunion, we haven't even seen most of these people for 10 years! But we're still freaking out and it's all very exciting. A picnic picture:
Photobucket

We stay for an hour, but we were running late and didn't even bring any food so we were hungry. There were only about 20 people there, and I tried to be social while Alison texts me and asks if I'd be mad if she didn't go to the evening activity. Uh, yes? I also reconnected with an old friend that I went to elementary school with. It's good times.
Photobucket

We're hungry and choose something healthy to eat:
Photobucket

Alison and I are both turning 29 next week. We are both freaking out about this. We've been friends since around our 13th birthdays. Crazies.
Photobucket

We go back to my apartment to wait for my car to be ready. We watch Pushing Daisies and try on clothes to settle on appropriate reunion wear. I'm not sure about this skirt. We'll see.
Photobucket

My car is ready. We go back to the dealership.
Photobucket

When I get home after picking up Stella, I watch CSI for a little while, eat a brownie, and generally obsess over my nervousness. I'm a little tired because the night before I stayed up late writing fanfic saving orphans from fires. I attempt a nap. Apparently naps make me squinty.
Photobucket

The nap fails, so I wake up and watch Pretty Woman for the fifth time in like 3 weeks while I get ready. The skirt makes it into rotation.
Photobucket

I write down directions before I leave to pick up Alison.
Photobucket

They gave Stella a bath before I picked her up at the dealership. She's pretty.
Photobucket

Alison wants to be picked up at 7:10, even though the reunion is at 8 and the venue is like 15 minutes from her place. I'm so running late and she's going to eat my kidneys for dinner.
Photobucket

I pick her up at 7:15, and we get to the venue 20 minutes early. I told her! But we drive around a little and then sit in the car and tell sordid stories of high school.
Photobucket

Photobucket

Finally we gather our nerve and go in. Richardson High School class of 1998, represent!
Photobucket

We find my friend Jeff, someone I've kept in touch with over the years but haven't seen since graduation. This picture of me sucks.
Photobucket

Alison makes a friend:
Photobucket

This was literally the highlight of my night--I find 4 people I also went to elementary school with, and we get a picture together. We all promise to Facebook and super poke and we're generally happy to see everyone.
Photobucket

This is a picture of people dancing to the electric slide. Really. They tried to play songs that were popular in our high school times, but really they were more nineties than anything else. I mean, Baby Got Back? So 1991.
Photobucket

We enjoy some adult beverages.
Photobucket

It's funny, I recognized a lot of people that I went to school with, but I wasn't sure what to talk to everyone about. As a result, Alison and I mostly sat in at our table with our small group of friends and didn't really stray from our comfort zone. Here's a picture of a lot of people I didn't mingle with:
Photobucket

A shot of tequila? Okay!
Photobucket

Around 11, the "awards" are announced. We have most changed, least changed, reunion king and queen. The results are completely predictable. There was also the high school sweethearts award, given to a couple who had been together since high school. Awww. At 11, we leave. There is an after party, but we've pretty much had enough. Goodbye, class of 1998.
Photobucket

I take Alison home.
Photobucket

The high school is close to the venue, so we stop by and take a picture that is pretty much full of fail.
Photobucket

This picture is here only because this is where me and Josh (with my parents) went on our first date, after an orchestra concert (I played viola) my junior year. We broke up before my senior year and then found each other again via that which is myspace 3 years ago. He didn't go to my school so he didn't go to the reunion.
Photobucket

I talk to my mom all the way home. She wants to know all the details.
Photobucket

Update the livejournal, of course.
Photobucket

I'm in bed by 12:30. Lame, yes, but I'm tired and finished with this night.
Photobucket

I call Josh and say good night.
Photobucket

Good night!
Photobucket

previous // next // random
0 comments
diaryland