Photobucket
current
archives
profile
about me
cast
links
austinliz
mymichele
email
myspace
fanfic
notes

Roaches, Kathy Griffin and Slash

July 13, 2007

I have become enamored with a few things in the past week or two. These things include:

* Guitar Hero 2 - which I completely suck at but I love it unnaturally. I can barely get through Sweet Child of Mine. I rock the crap out of Mother by Danzig. I tried Freebird today, that was...not good. But I've only been playing for a few days.

Josh has been playing for about a week now and he's like Rainman or something. He's already mastered all the easy and medium songs, most of the hard and some of the expert. He's my little guitar man, is what he is. Slash in the making! And it's so hot to watch him play for some reason. I think I have a problem.

* Top Chef - I watched 30 minutes of it when I was in Utah and then wanted to watch every episode ever. And really, half of the time I've never heard of anything they make. It's always ceviche or something reduced or something. I'm just like, "Mmm, cheeseburger!" But these people know their stuff, and that's hot.

* Kathy Griffin, Life on the D List - I do not like Kathy Griffin in particular. But my TV was on Bravo because of Top Chef, and it came on, and before I knew it, I had been watching it for 2 and a half hours and recording every other episode. She's tiny and funny and sad at the appropriate moments. She does love her the gays.

* Last Comic Standing - basically, reality TV, Bravo and NBC own me this summer. This show makes me laugh a lot, and that's fun.

* My So Called Life - okay, yeah, I know I've basically obsessed over that since the beginning of time, but now I have reached what will obviously be the pinnacle of my career: we are working on it for its DVD release in October. Yes, October! A real DVD set, not like the one I have with just the episodes, but like commentaries and everything!

I mean, I've worked on Decline of the Western Civilization, Beaches, Bridget Jones' Diary, Sanford and Son...lots of stuff that I really, really like. But this is my most favorite show ever of all time. The only thing that could beat it is if something wonderful happened and we got to caption new episodes of CSI. I mean, we do Ghost Whisperer and Criminal Minds for CBS, why not CSI?! Wah!

Anyway. Last night I stayed here until 2 AM working on the episode "Self Esteem." This was not required of me yet I felt it was something I pretty much had to do. Because that is my favorite episode ever of my favorite TV show ever, it has the scene where everyone's in the hall and Jordan takes Angela's hand for all to see! *swoon* Plus, I will be buying this DVD and I can watch it with the captions on and say, "Hey, I did that. I stayed until 2 in the morning once so I could finish this wonderful magical episode." And that's pretty awesome. It was kind of important to me that I could do that. Sad, yes. But awesome? Yes.

And here is where I tell you why I am so in love with this show, even after, like, 11 years since it ended. First of all, Angela Chase is such an awesome icon of teenagery goodness. She doesn't wear slutty clothes or put out slutty vibes. I mean, the girl wears some kind of flannel with every outfit. Hey, it was 1994, we were all doing it! I know I was. She's smart and she has a good family, even if Graham may or not be cheating on Patty, and even if Patty is a little on the completely neurotic side. Oh, and not to mention that I was the same age as her at the time. She was just realistic looking and did realistic things for a teenager. Mmmkay.

And then there's Jordan. Jordan Catalano, my TV boyfriend for life. He's not very smart - he thinks there are people who live in mountains that make the snow, for crying out loud - and he comes from a rough background. But he still likes Angela, even if she isn't one of those skanky whores like Cynthia Hargrove that he can just bang and get over. He really likes her, he just doesn't know how to deal with that. And she really cares about him and wants to help him, but she's just not ready to have sex with him yet, and he can't seem to deal with that.

I don't know, it is perhaps because I was in a very similar kind of relationship when I was 15 that I liked this show so much at the time, but it's real. And the way Jordan always tries to get it right but never quite succeeds, that's kind of touching. And I will probably never get over this show. And that is okay.

In other news, I'm starting to hate roaches like Howard Hughes hated germs, or whatever it was he actually hated. (I did the Aviator a few weeks ago and it stuck with me...Leonardo really is quite fantastic.) Like, this hatred is starting to not even make sense anymore, but there's nothing I can do about it. They seem to around more often because of the heat and the rain, and the crap part is:
a. They hover in the darkness, so you can't see them until you turn on the light!
b. And some of them fly!

Like, if I have to go to the bathroom at Josh's house in the middle of the night...it's a 50/50 chance I'll turn on the light and a roach will be hanging out on the door. Then I'll scream and run away without going to the bathroom even though it's the only bathroom in the house and I need to pee very badly.

Sometimes I even make Josh go to the bathroom first and turn the light on, then I'll go in after him just to make sure there's nothing lurking. It's really gotten ridiculous but I don't see it getting better any time soon. It's like...a crippling fear.

Anyway...yeah. That is pretty much it. Rock on and such.

previous // next // random
1 comments
diaryland