Photobucket
current
archives
profile
about me
cast
links
austinliz
mymichele
email
myspace
fanfic
notes

chinese democracy/obama

November 07, 2008

Hi, friends. Me again.

Let's see...
- I have not lost any significant weight on Jenny in...2 months. I should probably do something about that.
- I haven't seen Josh since Saturday, and I am not particularly bothered by this.
- Old friends keep popping up this year and emailing me on myspace and this delights me.
- Nano is going well...I got way far ahead last weekend because I knew I wouldn't get much done this week. 10,000+ and counting, and tonight if I'm not playing Guitar Hero all night, there will be a good dent made in the story.
- So much overtime the past couple of weeks and I'm not sure why I do that to myself when I know the outcome won't be what I think. I believe that after a certain amount of dollars, they take more taxes out. So there's a number of hours I need to do and then cut it off at that time so they don't screw me with taxes. I just don't know what that number is, unfortunately.

Also, here's the best SNL clip ever. I remember watching this back when it first aired. It is still as awesome as it was back then. I might be a little biased, though.

Kiddie Metal


Also, a kind of rant/editorial on Obama/Chinese Democracy that I posted, well, everywhere (and my apologies to those of you who have now seen it 18 times)...

Dear Friends,

Now that we have done the seemingly impossible and voted Barack Obama to be our next president, I urge us to take a look at something else that was once considered impossible: Chinese Democracy, Guns N' Roses' long anticipated album, will be coming out this month. November 23rd, to be exact.

Those of you who have had so much as one conversation with me know that I love me some GN'R. This is an obvious fact about me, and it has been for the last, um...17 years? Dear God, I'm old. Anyway, we know this about me. Axl Rose and GN'R have played a very large role in my experience as a human over the years.

I tell you that to tell you this: Please buy the album. Please put your faith in a man who has poured his heart and soul into the album for over a decade. We can accuse Axl Rose of many different things, but not having passion is not one of them. Even if you've never bought a GN'R album before, even if you want to punch me in the face every time I bring it up yet again (my co-workers would probably put themselves in that category), even if you'd rather go moose hunting with Sarah Palin now that she has some time on her hands: buy this album.

Obviously I am a bit biased, but the fact remains that this music is GOOD. It has a soul, it breathes, it lives. It's not Appetite for Destruction because Appetite for Destruction was 20 years ago. It's not Slash, because Slash has moved on. It's not even Buckethead, but then again, it never really was. The heart of this band is Axl, and he's still there, and even if I don't get to meet him and make him my boyfriend for life, he made some music that will make you close your eyes and think, "Damn, that's good."

So I urge you to support an album so good it took more than 10 years to make. Do it for me. Do it for Obama.

That is all.

previous // next // random
0 comments
diaryland