Photobucket
current
archives
profile
about me
cast
links
austinliz
mymichele
email
myspace
fanfic
notes

All I know is what the Terminator taught me, plus obsessing over pop culture for over 16 years!

December 04, 2007

I've been thinking about how tastes can change, but how some things can be the same, like, forever.

For example, I had the joy of working on Terminator 3 today. There are so many reasons why that movie is awesome, and I will tell you about them...right now. (And I have told you about it before, but that was 4 years ago, so never mind that!)

- Nick Stahl. Yeah, yeah, first boy to break my heart, we all know that.

- Claire Danes. Angela Chase, number one favorite TV character ever.

- The combination of the two of them kind of blows my mind. I know, I'm weird, but whatevs.

- I loved Terminator 2, and I loved me some Eddie Furlong, which was only about a year after I loved me some Nick Stahl in elementary school.

- Eddie Furlong in Terminator 2 = John Connor. Nick Stahl in Terminator 3 = John Connor. Both of them = boys that I used to want to marry.

And man alive, Nick Stahl is hot in this movie! He looks perhaps like a drug addict, yes, but still HOTT! It's doing funny things to me, which is bad when I'm at work.

Uh, anyway, My point there is how old tastes can turn into new tastes, just because they are, in fact, old tastes. You know?

Another example that I talked a tiny bit about in my last entry is Axl and Sebastian. I loved, LOVED both of them when I was 12 years old. I'm STILL not over my parents not letting me go to the GN'R concert when I was 12. I also threw a hissy fit when I didn't get to go to the Skid Row concert. And now, when listen to those 3 songs on Sebastian's new album that have Axl singing on them, whoa. It brings such great comfort to hear Axl's voice, especially with Sebastian's, even (OMG) 16 years later. I have liked something for 16 years, y'all. I mean...does that not blow your mind?

Yet another thing is that my co-worker friend and I have been waxing nostalgic on the Baby-sitters Club quite a bit lately. We got together to watch the movie and some of the TV shows, and I bought a million books because they were 50 cents and I'm lame like that. I've been reading them, though. I can't really read them in public because that's just embarrassing. But they do have good nostalgia value and I can appreciate that. The books are ridiculous and they were in a time warp for 15 years, and they all have such terrible, terrible fashion sense, but still. I've also recently learned that Ann M. Martin only wrote, like, 15 books. The rest were written by ghostwriters. That makes me mourn my childhood just a bit. But the BSC books are what got me into reading in the first place. I started reading those when I was probably about 7 years old. 21 YEARS AGO.

Not everything I like is the same thing I liked back then. Like, I used to HATE Seinfeld. I didn't like it at all. Josh loves it, and I didn't know why, so we started watching a bunch of episodes. And guess what? I LOVE this show. I love Elaine. Kramer is so fucking weird. I hate George just a little. And it always makes me laugh.

Another dumb thing is that I am starting to prefer a beardless Grissom, and that's so strange of me because for 3 years I've loved me some bearded Billy Petersen. But right now, mid Season 8, I think he's looked the best he's been since season 1. Rawr, that's what I have to say about that. Also, George Eads, AKA Nick Stokes, is also looking hotter than ever. He's becoming my favorite character right behind Grissom and Sara (RIP!!). Damn Writer's strike, only 3 more new episodes and then...nothing.

And while we're talking about CSI, that's only been my thing for 3 years now, but I know 10 years from now I'll watch some of those episodes and still enjoy them, because even if my tastes have changed, that doesn't mean I won't still obsess over Grissom and Sara like nobody's business.

And I do cultivate new interests, even though I sound like I don't. I do, I swear! I like TV shows Life, and Samantha Who, and Women's Murder Club, and the Big Bang Theory, House. I like different authors, like Emily Giffin and Jennifer Weiner and sometimes even Nicholas Sparks, even though I still love a good Stephen King or Christopher Pike book. I haven't liked any new movies for a while, but that's mostly because I'm so addicted to TV that I don't really see movies anymore.

Anyway, I guess I'm just fascinated by how I obsess over things for such a long period of time and still get lots of enjoyment out of them. I mean, who doesn't like turning off the lights, popping in Beaches and crying all over yourself? Oh, yeah, Beaches. I still love Bette Midler. I just bought her Christmas album. Because even though stuff does change, the basic principle of what I like apparently never will. And I dig that. A person can rely on that. Because things in your life change, and they may suck just a little, but you can always count on the things you've always counted on. Or...something.

In other news, the 16th is me and Josh's anniversary. Yeah, I know, fuckin' unbelievable. I suppose we should give ourselves credit for having so many fights and still managing to make it work. Or, you know, just being stupid enough to not be able to let go. One of those!

I'm not very excited about our relationship right now, but that happens. You get in a rut, you dig yourselves out until there's another one. Whatevs, we're still together, we'll either make it work or we won't. Good times.

Also: I can't stop eating. AGAIN. And my stomach hurts and I'm all sluggish and I have Puff Face, and I still CAN'T STOP. Rawrg.

Also, I got my hair colored on Saturday, and I went dark. Like, one shade less than black, dark. I love it a lot. And it made me happy that even the cashier at Subway, where I've been like twice in six months (I used to go a lot more than that but stopped because I didn't much like the cashier lady, too surly for my tastes) said, "You dyed your hair!" Yes, yes I did. I'm goth and I'm lovin' it. I even have on my Vixen nail polish to prove it! Rawr!

Um, this is the longest entry I've done in years, so I'll just be over here, doing work and such. Bye bye.

previous // next // random
1 comments
diaryland